Ask A Cartographer

default layer symbology

April 07 2010 | 1 comment
Categories: Symbology

When you add layers to ArcMap, default symbology is applied. For example, point layers are symbolized with a 4 point circle in an arbitrary color. Is it possible to change the default symbol? Also, is it possible to change or edit the color scheme that ArcMap picks from? Is it possible even to find out what this color scheme is? Thanks.

Mapping Center Answer:

The default symbology can be changed using the Advanced ArcMap Settings Utility.  This executable file is usually found in your C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\Utilities directory.  Just navigate to that directory, double click the AdvancedArcMapSettings.exe file and the ArcMap Advanced Settings dialog will open.  Click the Symbols/Graphics tab and you can set the color ramp and the color scheme (Pastels by default), as well as the background color (white by default), the marker size (4 pts by default), the line width (1 pt by default), the rectangle style (solid by default), and the rectangle outline width (1 pt by default) as well as many other settings that relate to your experience in ArcMap.

Attached is a screenshot of the Symbols/Graphics tab dialog.

default layer symbology more control posted by Don Mitchell on Oct 1 2014 11:57AM
Is there a way to change the actual default symbol? I'd like to change the default cirle with outline to circle without outline, or even to a square...or is that not possible?

If you would like to post a comment, please login.

Contact Us | Legal | Privacy |