Ask A Cartographer

deleted layer

December 29 2008 | 0 comments
Categories: Symbology

I mistakenly deleted a layer from our map display. Where did it go and can I retrieve it or do I have to start from scratch?

Mapping Center Answer:

If you didn't already save the .mxd yet, you can use the Undo fiunction to get back to the point at which the layer went missing.  If course, you will also undo all your changes since then as well.

Unless you specifically saved the layer as a Layer File, you cannot retrieve it.  If you did save it, then it will be in the directory you indicated when you saved the layer file.  If you cannot recall where you placed it, you can search on filenames that have a ".lyr" extension.

Alternatively, if you happen to haved an earlier version of your .mxd with the correct layer file, you can open that and you will see the layer again.  At this point, I would advise saving the layer as a Layer File -- just right click the layer name in the Table of Contents and seelct the Save as Layer File option.

(Just as an aside, I often advise folks to save their .mxd with a new version number or name fairly often -- for just such situations as this.  I believe this is especially good advice for more novice users who may inadvertently make changes that they want to be able to "reverse", so to speak.)

If you would like to post a comment, please login.

Contact Us | Legal | Privacy |